This temple is a tremendously important hisporical site of Ayutthaya Province. Waa Phra Si Sanphet was like the Temple of the Emerald Buddha because it served as the temple of the royal palace and had no living quarters for monks. There was only Phutthawat (the ceremonial quarters) for committing religious ceremonies.
Based on historical evidences, King U-thong used the area of Wat Phra Si Sanphet to build the royal palace and his residence as many other Kings have done for around 100 years afterwards. Until the reign of King Borom Trailokanat who ordered a new royal palace compound to be built in the north side and assigned the area of Phra Si Sanphet Tempe as a site to hold essential ceremonies of the kingdom.
The unique components of Phra Si Sanphet Temple that attract visitors are three big Ceylonese pagodas, each of which was built in a particular occasion. The one on the east side was built in the reign of Ring Ramathibodi II in A.D. 1492 to contain the body ashes of King Ramathibodi II’s father or King Borom Trailokanat. Afterwards, the pagoda in the middle was built in order to contain the body ashes of King Borom Racha III, King Ramathibodi II’s elder brother. The other pagoda was built in the reign of King Rachathirat iV who ordered the third pagoda to be built for containing the body ashes of King Ramathibodi II, the father of King Rachathirat IV.
Phra Si Sanphet Temple has been consistently restored until Ratanakosin Era, especially in the reign of King Rama IV when a great number of treasures were found. The latest big restoration project was in the reign of King Rama IX when General Plaek Phibunsongkhram was the Prime Minister.
Opening Hours: Everyday from 08:00 – 18:00, admission fee for the Thais is 10 baht.
Location: On the city island, Naresuan Road, adjacent to Phra Mongkhon Bophit Pantheon